Welcome to IES group web page !


Congratulations to Gagan Jhajj on his successful application for the Alberta Innovates Graduate Student Scholarship (AI GSS) 2023 ! Starting this fall, under Dr Oscar Lin's supervision, Gagan is working on his MSc IS thesis as part of a research program funded by NSERC DG and Alberta Innovates on developing mathematical models and computer algorithms for representing and predicting student knowledge proficiency and making decisions/recommendations about instructor pedagogical strategies with the goal to provide personalized learning paths, learning activities, exercises, assessments, and feedback.

Introduction to IES Group

Information and Communication Technology (ICT), esp. the Internet and the World Wide Web, AI, and machine learning have been revolutionizing education. Educational systems are computerized and networked. They become fertile soil for artificial intelligence (AI) that makes educational systems smart and efficient for both educators and learners. The only limitation is your imagination. When we work together, we can make things happen.
Our research is funded by NSERC and Athabasca University. We are a group of researchers who devote our attention to the study of AI for education.

  • Adaptive Cyber Learning
  • Formative Assessment
  • Interactive Simulation and Visualization
  • Auto-assessed Exercises
  • Emotional Intelligence
  • Gamified Learning Systems
  • Learning Analytics and Educational Data Mining
  • Student modeling
The Team
Former Members
  • Rayhan Kabir (Research Assistant)
  • Hari Bala (BSc CIS)
  • Supun De Silva (BSc CIS)
  • Diptanshu Mandal (MITACS GRI 2023 from India)
  • Manuel Gentes (MITACS GRI 2023 from Germany)
  • Archit Sood (MITACS GRI 2023 from India)
  • Gurpreet Singh (MITACS Globalink Research Internship (GRI) 2017 from India)
  • Nitin Dogra (MITACS GRI 2018 from India)
  • AJ Armstrong (MSc IS)
  • Ming Cai (NSERC RA)
  • Diane Qiao (NSERC RA)
  • Jack Huang (NSERC USRA)
  • Michale Dupuis (BSc CIS)
  • Philip Kirkbride (MITACS Research Training Award Recipient,2019 MSc IS)
  • John Mui (MSc IS)
  • Michale Procter (MSc IS)
  • Grant McClure (MSc IS)
  • Jeanne Blair (MSc IS)
  • Sima Shabani (MSc IS)
  • Ireti Fakinlede (MSc IS)
  • William Chen (MSc IS)
  • Steeve Leberge (MSc IS)
  • Harsh Kothari (NSERC USRA, U of Alberta, UG)
  • Leo Howard (NSERC USRA, BSc CIS)
  • Jerry (Ryan) Gustafson (NSERC USRA, BSc CIS)
Visiting PhD students
  • Bo Wu (Visiting PhD student from Waseda University, Japan )
  • Martin Weng (Visiting PhD student from Tamkang University, Taiwan, R, O. China)

Visiting Scholars
  • Dr Eugene (Youn-Gyou) Kook (Visiting Scholar from Korea)
  • Dr Xia Ning (Visiting Scholar from P. R. China)
  • Lanlan Huang (Visiting Scholar from P. R. China)
Flag Counter